Burger Wellington

Take a look at this year’s entries and the finalists.

Cocktail Wellington

Take a look at this year’s entries and last year’s winners.

Festival Dish Award

2016 winner: Jano Bistro
Festival Dish: red cabbage with Commonsense Organics prunes, On Trays parmesan and The Nut Shop hazelnuts (GF, V)

The Festival Dish Award celebrates the Dine Wellington Festival Dish that does one, two or all of the following:

      • best reflects the culinary capital’s flavour
      • creative interpretation of the Dine Wellington theme ‘an element of surprise’.
      • uses local products and suppliers (including beverage matches) 

Congratulations to all of this year’s finalists!

The judging process

Judging for the Festival Dish award takes place prior to the Festival in early August with the winner being announced the week prior to the Festival beginning. This is to allow you, the consumer the chance to go and try the finalists, the winner’s and all other participants Dine Wellington menus (and to whet your appetite, so to speak!).

As much as we would like to, we cannot try each and every Festival Dish (in 2016, that would equate to over 300 dishes!).

Once all applications for being apart of the Festival and offering a Dine Wellington set menu are accepted, a shortlist of five Festival Dishes is determined following a blind review of all entries (on paper) based on the above criteria.

Over two days, the finalists judges sampled the five shortlisted Festival Dishes.  The 2016 judges were Sarah Meikle (Festival Director, Visa Wellington On a Plate), Lucy Corry (Food Writer and Blogger) and Liz Egan. Liz is a Australian TV personality and chef, most recently of Becco in Melbourne. Each dish was judged based on the above criteria and also the following:

    • Presentation of the dish
    • Innovation in the development of the dish
    • Explanation by the server on the day

Note: this award replaces the MiNDFOOD Visa Wellington On a Plate Award, where previous winners are The White House, Muse On AllenLogan Brown  and Zibibbo.